Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Outlook Express requires a word processing or stand alone spell checking application installed before spell checking can be enabled.
Problem area: Outlook Express Spellchecking is not functional after installing an enabling application (i.e. Office, Word, Works Suite that includes Word, etc.), try the steps below.



!!!When tweaking your system files and/or registry, always set a new restore point before making changes.

 
To follow the the steps below, you need to change the default Windows setting for  Hidden Files and Folders.
  • From the Explorer Menu bar Tools>Folder Options> View Tab or
  • by going to Start> Control Panel> Folder Options> View Tab.
  • Uncheck the boxes that hide files. Click for Example

1. Open Explorer> Go to [Drive XP is installed]:\|Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Proof

 
2. Delete CSAPI3T1.DLL (If not found continue to next step)

 
3. Put in the Windows XP CD

 
4. Go to Start>Run

Start Run

 
5. In the Open box type msconfig and then click OK

 


 
6. Click on the "Expand File" button located in the bottom right corner of the System Configuration Utility

 

MSCONFIG

 
7. In the "File to Restore" box, type in CSAPI3T1.DLL

 
8. In the "Restore From" box type in there "?:\i386 \CSAPI3T1.DL_" without the quotes and substituting your cd-rom drive letter in place of the ?

 
9. In the "Save file in" box type "[Drive XP is installed]:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Proof" without the quotes
   
10. Click on the Expand button
   
  If you have trouble expanding the file.

Download it from HERE


 
11. Go back to C:\Program File\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Proof
   
12. Rename CSAPI3T1.DL_ to CSAPI3T1.DLL (I was told to do in lower case but everything else was in upper case-it didn't matter which way I did it still worked)

 
13. Go into Outlook Express, open Tools - Options and then go to the Spelling tab. Put a check mark in "Always check spelling before sending."

 
14. Feedback from sources that have tried the fix suggest you may need to reboot the computer to complete the fix.
 
15. Test by creating a new e-mail message sent to yourself and spel sume wirds incorrektly
Outlook Express requires a word processing or stand alone spell checking application installed before spell checking can be enabled.
Problem area: Outlook Express Spellchecking is not functional after installing an enabling application (i.e. Office, Word, Works Suite that includes Word, etc.), try the steps below.

!!!When tweaking your system files and/or registry, always set a new restore point before making changes.

To follow the the steps below, you need to change the default Windows setting for Hidden Files and Folders.

* From the Explorer Menu bar Tools>Folder Options> View Tab or
* by going to Start> Control Panel> Folder Options> View Tab.
* Uncheck the boxes that hide files. Click for Example


1. Open Explorer> Go to [Drive XP is installed]:\|Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Proof

2. Delete CSAPI3T1.DLL (If not found continue to next step)

3. Put in the Windows XP CD

4. Go to Start>Run
Start Run

5. In the Open box type msconfig and then click OK



6. Click on the "Expand File" button located in the bottom right corner of the System Configuration Utility

MSCONFIG

7. In the "File to Restore" box, type in CSAPI3T1.DLL

8. In the "Restore From" box type in there "?:\i386 \CSAPI3T1.DL_" without the quotes and substituting your cd-rom drive letter in place of the ?

9. In the "Save file in" box type "[Drive XP is installed]:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Proof" without the quotes

10. Click on the Expand button

If you have trouble expanding the file.
Download it from HERE


11. Go back to C:\Program File\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Proof

12. Rename CSAPI3T1.DL_ to CSAPI3T1.DLL (I was told to do in lower case but everything else was in upper case-it didn't matter which way I did it still worked)

13. Go into Outlook Express, open Tools - Options and then go to the Spelling tab. Put a check mark in "Always check spelling before sending."

14. Feedback from sources that have tried the fix suggest you may need to reboot the computer to complete the fix.

15. Test by creating a new e-mail message sent to yourself and spel sume wirds incorrektly

Thursday, July 29, 2010

MailStore Home - The free single-user desktop solution for email archiving


MailStore Home enables you to backup all your email messages from multiple applications and accounts into one secure and persistent archive. Lightning-fast search, one-click backup, powerful export - all information from your email is at your fingertips anytime. Never lose important email again!



All information from your email, is at your fingertips whenever you need it, without fail.

MailStore Home Archives Email From:

·                                 Microsoft Outlook 2000, XP, 2003 and 2007
·                                 Microsoft Outlook 2010 BETA (32-bit version only)
·                                 Microsoft Outlook Express and Windows Mail
·                                 Microsoft Exchange Server Mailboxes
·                                 Hosted Microsoft Exchange Mailboxes
·                                 Mozilla Thunderbird and SeaMonkey
·                                 POP3 and IMAP (including webmail services such as Gmail and Yahoo)
·                                 .eml and other files
Mailstore Home does not interfere with your settings or mail configuration, meaning it can do no harm, only good.

Benefits

·                                 Archive all email messages centrally, securely and permanently
·                                 No storage limitations
·                                 Search your email in a fraction of a second (incl. attachments)
·                                 Integrated CD/DVD burning, backup archives with 1 click
·                                 Conserve disk space; MailStore Home saves only a single instance of mail and attachments
·                                 Preview saved messages directly in MailStore and reopen them in your local mail client (e.g. Microsoft Outlook)
·                                 Your email can be exported to a variety of destinations
·                                 Messages are stored MIME-compatible, and can be recovered at any time without information loss (e.g. to import them in other applications)


Help Page: http://en.help.mailstore.com/MailStore_Help

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

How to Run the System File Checker (Sfc.exe) Offline in Windows 7 and Vista

The System File Checker (sfc.exe) is an useful tool that lets you scan the integrity of Windows system files, and repair corrupt or missing system files. Numerous cases have been resolved thus far by running Sfc.exe with the "scannow" parameter. However, there are situations where in a corrupt or missing system file prevents Windows from booting normally, and running Sfc.exe from Windows isn’t possible. In such cases, Sfc.exe can be run offline using two additional parameters, via the Windows Recovery Environment (Windows RE) in Windows 7 and Windows Vista.

Booting into Windows RE

Configure the boot order in the BIOS such that the first boot device is your CD/DVD drive.
Insert the Windows 7/Vista Setup DVD and restart the computer.
Alternately, you may use the Windows 7/Vista System Repair Disc if you have one.
When prompted, press a key to boot from the DVD. In the "Install Windows" screen, click Repair your computer

Select your Windows installation, and click Next


Editor’s Note: Make a note of the drive-letter of your Windows 7 installation, as seen from Windows RE. 
This is the drive-letter you want to reference when running Sfc.exe offline.
Click Command Prompt



To scan the integrity (and repair) a specific file, use this command:

sfc /scanfile=d:\windows\system32\zipfldr.dll /offbootdir=d:\ /offwindir=d:\windows
 
The above command scans the file zipfldr.dll and replaces it if required.

To scan the integrity of all system files and repair them, run this command:
sfc /scannow /offbootdir=d:\  /offwindir=d:\windows
 

This process takes some time (<5 min) to complete, and there weren’t any integrity violations.

Monday, July 12, 2010

Installing Oracle9i on Red Hat Linux 7.1 - 7.2

  Overview
This article is a comprehensive guide for installing Oracle9i (9.0.1 and 9.2.0) on the Red Hat Linux 7.1 and 7.2 operating environment. Keep in mind the following assumptions:
Downloading / Unpacking Oracle9i Installation Files
Swap Space Considerations

Known Issue #1 : (Error with Oracle 9.0.1 during linking of ins_plsql.mk)
The "binutils" package that ships with Red Hat 7.1 and Red Hat 7.2 will not work with Oracle 9i. You will see this bug show up during the "link" phase at around 62% when trying to link PL/SQL (ins_plsql.mk)
You have three options to get around this bug:

Known Issue #2 : (Error with Oracle9i during the linking of ins_oemagent.mk and ins_ctx.mk)
If you have ever installed Oracle8i on Red Hat Linux, you may be aware of several environment variables that had to be set in your .profile or .bash_profile:
Make sure that you DO NOT set these environment variables in your profile (login) script when installing Oracle9i. They will cause the installer to fail during the linking of the OEM Agent (ins_oemagent.mk) and Context (ins_ctx.mk)!
Known Issue #3 : Oracle 9.2.0 Only : (ORA-01041 / ORA-03113 during connect after shutting down the database in same SQL*Plus session)
When shutting down the database using SQL*Plus, you will need to do one of the following in order to startup the database again: There seems to be a bug in SQL*Plus that does not allow you to perform a shutdown followed by a startup in the same SQL*Plus session.
If you attempt to perform a startup and shutdown in the same session, you will be confronted with an ORA-01041 and ORA-03113 error. What seems to be happening is a problem with the allocation of shared memory segments. If you mistakenly try this, you have two options to recover from it:

Below is an example of the problem and how to solve it by removing the shared memory segments created by the startup command after shutting down the database:

Install the Java Development Kit (JDK)
In order to use Oracle's HTTP [Apache] Server, you will need to download an appropiate JDK. This can include either Sun's JDK 1.3.1 or Blackdown 1.1.8_v3. In the past, Oracle has always recommended Blackdown. I prefer Sun's JDK myself and have been successful using it with 9i. As per the JDK documentation, install JDK under /usr/local.
Then create a symbolic link to the JDK under /usr/local/java.


  • Sun's JDK 1.3.1 Download from: http://java.sun.com
    Install as root:

    % cp j2sdk-1_3_1_01-linux-i386.bin /usr/local
    % chmod 755 j2sdk-1_3_1_01-linux-i386.bin
    % ./j2sdk-1_3_1_01-linux-i386.bin
    % ln -s /usr/local/jdk1.3.1_01 /usr/local/java
  • Blackdown 1.1.8_v3 Download from: http://www.blackdown.org
    Install as root:

    % cp jdk118_v3-glibc-2.1.3.tar.bz2 /usr/local
    % bzip2 -dc jdk118_v3-glibc-2.1.3.tar.bz2
    % tar xvf jdk118_v3-glibc-2.1.3.tar
    % ln -s /usr/local/jdk118_v3 /usr/local/java
Create Oracle Account and Directories
Create Oracle User Account: % groupadd -g 115 dba
% useradd -u 173 -c "Oracle Software Owner" -d /u01/app/oracle -g "dba" -m -s /bin/bash oracle
% passwd oracle

Create Oracle Directories:
% mkdir /u01
% mkdir /u01/app
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/adhoc
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/adump
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/arch
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/backups
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/bdump
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/cdump
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/create
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/dba
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/exp
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/logbook
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/pfile
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/release
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/report
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/tuning
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/admin/O901DB/udump
% mkdir /u01/app/oracle/product
% chown -R oracle:dba /u01/app/oracle

% mkdir /u03
% mkdir /u03/app
% mkdir /u03/app/oradata
% mkdir /u03/app/oradata/O901DB
% chown -R oracle:dba /u03/app/oradata

% mkdir /u04
% mkdir /u04/app
% mkdir /u04/app/oradata
% mkdir /u04/app/oradata/O901DB
% chown -R oracle:dba /u04/app/oradata

% mkdir /u05
% mkdir /u05/app
% mkdir /u05/app/oradata
% mkdir /u05/app/oradata/O901DB
% chown -R oracle:dba /u05/app/oradata

% mkdir /u06
% mkdir /u06/app
% mkdir /u06/app/oradata
% mkdir /u06/app/oradata/O901DB
% chown -R oracle:dba /u06/app/oradata

% mkdir /u07
% mkdir /u07/app
% mkdir /u07/app/oradata
% mkdir /u07/app/oradata/O901DB
% chown -R oracle:dba /u07/app/oradata

% mkdir /u08
% mkdir /u08/app
% mkdir /u08/app/oradata
% mkdir /u08/app/oradata/O901DB
% chown -R oracle:dba /u08/app/oradata

% mkdir /u09
% mkdir /u09/app
% mkdir /u09/app/oradata
% mkdir /u09/app/oradata/O901DB
% chown -R oracle:dba /u09/app/oradata

% mkdir /u10
% mkdir /u10/app
% mkdir /u10/app/oradata
% mkdir /u10/app/oradata/O901DB
% chown -R oracle:dba /u10/app/oradata

% mkdir /opt/bin
% chown oracle:dba /opt/bin

Oracle Environment Variable Settings:
An example ".bash_profile" is provided in the Configuration Files / Scripts section below.
Run the Oracle Installer
As the "oracle" user account:
Configuration Files / Scripts
Example:
    .bash_profile
$HOME/.bash_profile for the "oracle" user account.
    initO901DB.ora
Sample instance parameter script for Oracle9i. Place this file in ~oracle/admin/O901DB/pfile before running the RUN_CRDB.sh script below.
    create_database901.tar
An example "create database" set of scripts. Untar the file to ~oracle/admin/O901DB/create. If you decide to change the name of the ORACLE_SID, here are the files that need to be changed:
  • crdb.sh
  • create_database.sql
  • postDBCreation.sql
The main script to run is: RUN_CRDB.sh.

Monday, June 21, 2010

“553 Sorry, that domain isn’t in my list of allowed rcpthosts” “Relaying prohibited” error in MS OUTLOOK 2007

You get this error when the outgoing server (SMTP) does not recognize you as an authorized user. This can happen for various reasons but in general you’ll encounter this when you want to send a message through an SMTP server that is on another network than you are currently connected to.

Enable authentication for your SMTP server

When this happens, you can configure your outgoing server to use authentication before sending this message. To do this, you must first open your account settings;
• Outlook 2010
File ---Account Settings--Account Settings…
• Outlook 2007
Tools---Account Settings
• Outlook 2003 and 2002/XP
Tools----E-mail Accounts---button Next



Once you have opened the list of configured accounts;
Select your mail account--- button Change---button More Settings--tab Outgoing Server--- select: My outgoing server (SMTP) requires authentication

Note: Some ISPs have configured their SMTP servers to never allow sending messages from another network. In this case you can ask the administrator of the network you are connected to (in our example that would be the administrator of the hotel network) for their SMTP server settings or use the web mail provided by your ISP instead.

Enable authentication for your SMTP server

Thursday, June 17, 2010

HP LaserJet P2055dn and P2055x Printers - Manual IP Setting through Control Panel

 
There are 3 ways to configure the IP address: HP ToolboxFX, embedded Web server (EWS) and the control panel on P2050 series printers (P2055n/P2055x). The control panel can be used to manually and automatically configure the IP address. This document describes how to configure the IP address manually using the control panel.

NOTE: Specific automatic IP modes (such as BOOTP, DHCP, or AutoIP) can be changed by using the embedded Web server or HP ToolboxFX only. If AutoIP is disabled, HP default IP (192.0.0.192) will automatically be enabled.
  1. On the control panel, press OK .
  2. Use the arrow buttons to select Network config. , and then press OK .
  3. Use the arrow buttons to select CFG TCP/IP , and then press OK .
  4. Use the arrow buttons to select BOOTP , make sure the value is No , and then press OK .
  5. Use the arrow buttons to select DHCP , make sure the value is No , and then press OK .
  6. Use the arrow buttons to select IP BYTE 1 , and then press OK .
  7. Use the arrow buttons to change the value of IP BYTE 1 , and then press OK .
  8. Repeat steps 6 and 7 for IP BYTE 2 , IP BYTE 3 , and IP BYTE 4 . Also, repeat steps 6 and 7 for the Subnet Mask (SM BYTE 1, SM BYTE 2, SM BYTE 3, SM BYTE 4 ) and Default Gateway (GW BYTE 1, GW BYTE 2, GW BYTE 3, GW BYTE 4 ).

    NOTE: Example: If the IP address is 192.168.0.1
    • IP byte 1=192
    • byte 2=168
    • byte 3 =0
    • byte 4 =1
  9. Use the Back or Cancel button to leave the Network config. menu.
  10. Settings will take effect after Step 9 and the printer has returned to Ready .
After performing the following procedure, print a Network Report page as follows:
  1. Press OK
  2. Press the down arrow to select Reports , and then press OK.
  3. Press the down arrow to select the Network Report , and then press OK .
To make these settings permenant, press and hold the Cancel and down arrow keys simultaneously until "Permanent Storage init " displays on the control panel.

Procedure to clearing the ConfigMgr (SCCM) client local cache (CCM cache) -Resolving Disk space isssue

Essentially the client cache is a temporary download location for software, applications and software updates that are deployed to a clie...